Preface

I’ve owned a couple of blogging sites before, from good ol’ Xanga in middle school, to Tumblr in high school and college, and Blogger post-college. My posts varied from trivial gripes about my day; cute animals, fashion, love, and quotes; to my volunteer experiences and “philosophical” opinions about life. This is my first time attempting a real blog where I’ll have themed posts and (hopefully) organized thoughts, and I’m really excited. Mostly because it took over two days just to create a blog name and an “About Me” section haha.

I became inspired to create a blog of my own because I follow so many other blogs that captured one main theme, such as fashion, DIY, cooking, interior design, or travel, but where could I find something that embodies all of my interests? Then I thought about it.. Why couldn’t I just create my own? I’m definitely going to be pretty noob at this, but I hope over time my blog will mature and I’ll have a better sense of my online writing style and establish a voice that can be heard by people all over NYC, and maybe even the nation years from now! :3

Since this is my first post, I thought I would share some of the blogs and websites that I follow for my inspiration. I think to start off my blog, I’ll be featuring some pages that really speak to me or that I admire and share my thoughts on what is written! When I finally have some down time to work on my own DIY things or take some seriously good food pics, I’ll start to share those posts too 🙂

I recently subscribed to HGTV‘s magazine because I’m a loyal fan of the channel. I love almost all of the shows I’ve seen so far, such as Fixer Upper, Property Brothers, Love It or List It (personally I like the newer series more), Flip or Flop, Beachfront Bargain Hunt, and House Hunters. When I try to think of how I became so obsessed with these house renovation shows, I think it stems from my original infatuation with David Tutera’s My Fair Wedding show, where he could turn the most disastrous wedding planning into a scene pulled out of a fairytale wedding. I love event planning and seeing blank canvases become transformed into beautiful creations (maybe it’s the artist in me that feels inspired)!

That being said, I do my best to keep up with various blogs, websites and newsletters that help me keep up with all of my interests! I recently subscribed to the following magazine newsletters:

Southern Living: “The ultimate insiders’ guide to Southern culture, recipes, travel, and events.”
Real Simple: “Find quick and healthy recipes, nutrition tips, entertaining menus, and fitness guides to help you make smart choices for a healthy lifestyle from RealSimple magazine.”
All You: “Live well for less! All You brings you coupons and deals, money-saving recipes and tips, time-saving strategies, and real women’s stories”

I’m currently juggling three different part-time jobs, so it’s hard to keep up with all of the newsletter emails they send me, but I’ll do my best to share some posts about them soon!

Leave a Reply

