Hawaii Meets NYC: Poké Bowls

poke.jpg

Have you gotten the chance to go to Hawaii and try this local healthy fast food? If not and you live in NYC (and Hong Kong, I hear!), poké bowls are all the rage and little shops are popping up all over the place! According to Wikipedia, “Poké is a raw fish salad served as an appetizer in Hawaiian cuisine…and is the Hawaiian verb for ‘section’ or ‘to slice or cut’.” If you’re a huge fan of sashimi like me, this was something I knew I had to try!

There are a few shops that are in NYC (and trust, I plan to visit them all and see which is the top pick–I’ll let y’all know when I find out!), and I got the chance to visit Pokéworks first. If you want to read my review on Yelp, you can find it here. In short, to me, it’s like Japanese sushi Chipotle, since you can mix and match what ingredients you want to put in your rice bowl/burrito/salad!

I decided on mixing tuna and salmon and getting nearly all the ingredients on the menu that they had to offer, and I also mixed ponzu and spicy ginger sauces. It’s amaaaaazing! I definitely recommend this fast food for anyone who is in need of something refreshing and healthy.

12687791_3234670589606_3709675311672648935_n

Where do you live? Do you have poké shops in your city? Leave your comments and thoughts below! 🙂

ALL PHOTOS ARE ©magnetically aesthetic. Please do not steal, edit, or use these pictures in any way without my permission. Thank you!

Stay connected with me: Pinterest | Instagram | Twitter ❤

11 responses to “Hawaii Meets NYC: Poké Bowls

  1. I love Poké, but it’s so hard to find it in NY. Where do you go?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Natalie, do you live in NYC? Pokeworks is in Midtown West by Herald Square, and there’s another one I heard of called Sons of Thunder which is in Midtown East (not exactly sure where, but it’s in the East 30s Streets area)! As a heads up, Pokeworks has VERY little seating space, so it’s best for takeout! 🙂 Hope this helps!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your review style, Magnet. Very authentic :). Would love to feature your reviews in our weekly curated email digest that goes out to thousands of people.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When I first saw Pokebowls, I thought it was a Pokemon theme restaurant. I was so sad after I googled it 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Poké Bowls: Who does it best? | magnetically aesthetic

Leave a Reply

